ServiceTitan vs Housecall Pro: which fits your shop
2026-10-21 · 7 min read
Rather not build it yourself? We build the automation on your tools and keep it running. Get it built for me→
It's a Tuesday in October. The first cold snap hit over the weekend and you have eleven no-heat calls on the board, four trucks, one person answering the phone, and a whiteboard that stopped matching reality around 9 a.m. You've narrowed field service software down to two names. One rep keeps saying "enterprise-grade." The other has prices on its website. Before you sit through two demos, you want to know whether ServiceTitan vs Housecall Pro is even a fair fight for a shop your size.
It is, and the answer depends less on features than on who sits in your office. Everything below about either product comes from ServiceTitan's pricing page and Housecall Pro's pricing page, both of which I checked on October 21, 2026. Vendors change these pages often, so check them again before you sign.
ServiceTitan vs Housecall Pro at a glance
| ServiceTitan | Housecall Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Published price | None. Every plan says "Request Pricing" | Basic $79/mo monthly ($59 annual), Essentials $189/mo ($149 annual), Max $329/mo ($299 annual) |
| How it's billed | Per technician, rate not published | Per plan, with users included: 1, 5 and 8. Max adds users at $35/mo each |
| Plans | Starter, Essentials, The Works | Basic, Essentials, Max |
| Free trial | Not mentioned. The page offers a free demo | 14 days, no credit card, with full access to Max |
| Contract | Not stated on the page | "No long-term contract" per the FAQ |
| Card processing on the page | Not stated | "As low as 2.59%," plus a 1% fee on bank payments |
| Pricebook | Every plan | Every plan (flat-rate pricing from Essentials) |
| Commissions | The Works | Essentials and up |
| Memberships / service plans | Customizable memberships on The Works | Recurring service plans on Max |
| Advanced reporting | The Works | Not broken out by plan on the page |
| Best fit | Shops with a dispatcher, a CSR and techs who sell on site | Owner-operators and small crews who want to start this week |
The short version: Housecall Pro tells you the price and lets you try it. ServiceTitan tells you what's in each plan and asks you to call, which is how you sell to a shop that expects a sales process.
What ServiceTitan costs and includes
ServiceTitan publishes no prices. Its page describes "per-technician pricing" that is "designed to fit your business and goals, at any size," and each of its three plans has a "Request Pricing" button where the number would be. Review sites and forums pass around ServiceTitan figures. I'm leaving them out because ServiceTitan doesn't publish them and I can't verify them.
The plans stack, so each one includes the tier below it. Starter has dispatching, scheduling, call booking, invoicing and the pricebook. Essentials adds mobile estimates and payroll management. The Works adds configurable payroll, advanced reporting, commission tracking and customizable memberships.
The page doesn't mention a free trial, onboarding fees or contract length. Ask about all three on the call and get the answers in writing. Since you pay by the tech, also ask who counts as a technician and what happens to the bill when you add a truck in the busy season and drop it after. I went through the plans in more depth in the ServiceTitan pricing breakdown.
What Housecall Pro costs and includes
Housecall Pro lists three plans with prices and user counts:
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually | Users included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $79/mo | $59/mo | 1 |
| Essentials | $189/mo | $149/mo | 5 |
| Max | $329/mo | $299/mo | 8 |
When I checked there were promotions on the page too: $26 for the first month on Basic and Essentials, and $99 a month for three months on Max. Budget at the regular price, since that's what you'll pay most of the year.
Basic covers online booking, scheduling and dispatch, estimates and invoicing, payments and consumer financing, the price book, job costing and review management. Essentials adds routes, flat-rate pricing, checklist automations, photo reports, employee GPS tracking, commissions and QuickBooks Online sync. Max adds a sales proposal tool, recurring service plans, route optimization, open API access, a dedicated onboarding specialist and escalated phone support.
The page also lists add-ons, among them Voice, Campaigns, Pipeline, Payroll, Accounting and Websites, with no prices printed for any of them. If a demo leans on one, ask whether it's in your plan or billed on top. The full plan-by-plan rundown is in the Housecall Pro pricing post.
How to choose: pick by who runs your office
Count the people in your office before you compare feature grids. Both products dispatch, schedule, invoice and keep a pricebook. Where they differ is how many people they expect to be doing those jobs.
Housecall Pro probably fits if:
- You answer the phone yourself, or a spouse or one office person does.
- You have one to eight people in the field and want a published price you can budget against.
- You want to try it on real jobs for two weeks before you commit.
- Your sales process is a quote sent by text or email, followed by a call.
ServiceTitan probably fits if:
- You have a CSR booking calls and a dispatcher running the board, and they need tools built for those roles.
- Your techs present options on site and get paid on commission.
- Maintenance memberships make up a real share of revenue and you want to shape them yourself.
- You want reports on close rate and membership counts by tech, and someone will actually read them.
If you're somewhere in between, say three or four trucks with an office manager who does everything, start with the Housecall Pro trial and ask ServiceTitan for a written quote at your actual tech count. Compare the two over twelve months. If Jobber is also on your list, I compared it with Housecall Pro in Jobber vs Housecall Pro.
What neither one does out of the box
Whichever you pick, a few jobs still fall to someone in your shop unless they're set up on purpose.
Start with the call nobody answered. Both products book calls, but neither picks up a phone that rings out while you're under a furnace. A missed-call text back texts the caller within a minute with your shop name and a question about the problem, and the reply lands where your team will see it.
Then the quote that goes quiet. A replacement quote goes out and nobody hears back, and unless someone owns the follow-up schedule it dies in the sent folder. The wording I'd use is in these quote follow-up email templates.
Leads from everywhere else are next. Google Business Profile messages, website forms and texts to a tech's cell should land in one list with the address and the problem already filled in, so nobody retypes them into the software.
Last is the Monday number. Most owners want quotes out, jobs booked and money owed in one message, without logging in to pull reports.
That's the work I build around the software HVAC contractors already pay for. Builds start at $500 one-time, then a flat monthly from $99 after an included run-in period, and you can cancel. If your shop really has outgrown its tools and needs a platform switch, I'll tell you that too.
What stays human
No software decides whether a twenty-year-old furnace gets repaired or replaced. Your tech looks at it and you stand behind the price. When a customer calls angry about a callback, a person calls them back. Choosing between ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro is your call as well. Make it on how your office works during the first cold week of the year, and treat the feature grids as a starting point.
If you'd like a second opinion before either demo, or want to see what could run on its own with the tools you already have, book the free 20 minute process audit.